Editor’s Report

Labour Economics (the official journal of the European Association of Labour Economists)

Journal statistics: The number of submissions continues to increase. We now receive a total of around 500 regular and special issue submissions every year. The rate of desk rejection is almost 50%, whereas the acceptance rate is 12-13%. We aim to make a first decision within 3 months and we reach this goal for 75-80 % of all submissions.

EALE Conference Issue: After 17 years of publishing the EALE special issue, it has established itself as a popular channel of dissemination. The number of submissions has grown steadily year by year and is now above 80 submissions per issue. The acceptance rate is a bit higher than for regular issues due to the fact that the eligible submissions have already been accepted for the EALE conference.

New editors: We welcome three new editors from January 2018:
Editor-in-chief:  Arthur van Soest, Tilburg University.
Co-editor: Carlos Carrillo-Tudela, University of Essex.
Co-editor: Luca Flabbi , University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
We thank Steven Haider as outgoing co-editor for his great service.
From January 2018, the editorial board consists of:
Ghazala Azmat (Sciences Po), Carlos Carrillo-Tudela (University of Essex), Bernd Fitzenberger (Humboldt University of Berlin), Luca Flabbi (University of North Carolina), Albrecht Glitz (Universitat Pompeu Fabra), Michele Pellizzari (University of Geneva), Peter Rupert (University of California), Oskar Nordström Skans (Uppsala University), Wilbert van der Klaauw (Federal Reserve Bank of New York), Conny Wunsch (University of Basel) and Arthur van Soest (Tilburg University).

Special issue: In the January 2018 issue we publish a special issue on Search and Matching with contributions from among others: Elisa Guglielminetti, Jean Marc Robin, Pieter Gautier, Pietro Garibaldi, Anna Zaharieva, Jason Faberman and Carlos Carrillo-Tudela. Here is a link to the introduction “Search in macroeconomics” by Etienne Wasmer and Peter Rupert: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.labeco.2017.12.001

Call for papers: Special issue on the Economics of Migration
Call for papers: https://www.journals.elsevier.com/labour-economics/call-for-papers
Guest editors are: Francesco Fasani (Queen Mary University London), Joan Llull (UAB, MOVE & Barcelona GSE) And Cristina Tealdi (Heriot-Watt University Edinburgh)
Submission deadline: September 15, 2018.